Do As I Say – Not As I Do

[Admin note: Dave says all you common people need to be better than he is and he is using his “fame” to help you understand how much you need to improve. Me smells hypocracy. Bold by admin. PS — Loving “mother earth” down the list for me. PLUS, so we are clear, hypocracy is where you don’t think you are something but you are — not that you know you are a sinner.]

Dave Matthews’ Transportation Advice for People Who Aren’t Rock Stars: ‘Take a Bike’
Thursday, May 20, 2010/ By Nicholas Ballasy

(CNSNews.com) – Grammy Award-winning rock musician Dave Matthews said Thursday that he is confident his carbon footprint is “bigger than most people’s” and suggested that people who do not need to travel as much as he does with his band “can take a bike” to help save the planet.

Matthews also said he seeks to compensate for the carbon he emits as a touring musician by “trying to raise awareness” on the environmental front.

Appearing at a press conference in Washington, D.C., with famed primatologist Jane Goodall, Matthews agreed with Goodall’s assertion that “algae is the future” when it comes to alternative fuels.

“On the issue of climate change, Dave,” CNSNews.com asked Matthews, “what specifically have you done to reduce your carbon footprint and what recommendations would you make to people on what kind of things to embrace?”
 
“My carbon footprint, I think I can say confidently is much bigger than most people’s because I travel in a bus,” said Matthews. “But I think trying to raise awareness has, you know, maybe offsets that a bit. I think investing in alternative energy is something that offsets my footprint.”
 
He also said he tried to minimize his carbon footprint by using “fuel that’s grown rather than fuel that’s pumped out of the ground.” As he talked about alternative fuels, Goodall interjected by noting that algae is “the thing.” Matthews concurred, saying, “Algae is the thing. Algae is the future. Well, I live and learn.”
 
Matthews later had some advice for Americans who do not tour with a rockband. “I think people that don’t move around as much as me can take a bike, when it’s a nice day, and if there’s an opportunity, or walk, or turn off their lights, and things like that,” said Matthews, “and defend, when, in elections, defend the people that are going to defend wild spaces, and wild places, and wilderness, and go out, go outside, you know. That’s what I think.”
 
Matthews was in Washington, D.C. to appear at a benefit concert for the Jane Goodall Institute, a non-profit organization that seeks to improve “understanding and treatment of great apes through research, public education and advocacy.”